A week with Qt

I came across Qt a few months back when I was looking for a UI framework for a card game that I was making in Python. PyQt seemed fine, but because I didn’t have enough time to learn a new toolkit, I stuck with TkInter, the default UI framework that comes bundled in with Python. Stupid me.

Time passed and a few days back I decided that I should build a hotel management software (I know its boring and useless for almost everyone reading this post), but I realized that I have to make an e-commerce type thing someday. Better now then later.

I started googling. And I stumbled across Qt (again…). I downloaded a few tutorials from YouTube and just started creating the UI with Qt Designer. This was the first time I was drawing the UI using a WYSIWYG designer instead of hard cording it into the program. I loved it.

Within a week I had a working demo. I am not going to go into any technical detail here (but not here). Just wanted to tell you that the week went something like this:

DAY 1:

  • Discovered Qt. Finally C++. Retro. LOL.
  • Watched a few tutorials on YouTube.
  • Thought up what features a user might want.

DAY 2:

  • Read the tutorial on Qt Designer. More amazement.
  • Made lots of GUI screens. Life is fun when you have WYSIWYG and drag n’ drop.
  • Decided that the app needs a database. No client-server was needed. The app is, after all, meant to be used on a single computer on a small/medium sized hotel’s front desk manager’s computer. SQLite was what I needed.

DAY 3 & 4:

  • Tutorials & Documentation

DAY 5 & 6:

  • Coding, coding, coding
  • Google, QtAssistant & IRC
  • Working model was ready

DAY 7:

  • Some tweaking and twisting. A usable version was ready. I was showing it off to my friends.
After the first week, I spent another week making on and off modifications to the code. At the end of the second week I uploaded a demo to github.
Next stop… Qt Mobility.
